Classical

It’s currently 11:44 on November 19th, 2014. I’m laying in my nice box spring bed, listening to the Pride and Prejudice soundtrack. I just finished writing a paper for my Marriage and Eternal Families class, and I decided I have not written enough in the last couple months. Maybe it’s the classical music boosting my brain function; I’m not sure. So, welcome to the blog that I’ve written on 3 times, maybe.

I’m in Hawaii, as you all know. I’ve been here for about 3 months now? And I am very ready to go home. Don’t get me wrong – I love it here. I LOVE HAWAII. But a word of caution to those who wish to live here – living here is incredibly different from visiting here. I can assume that it’s like that wherever you go; Utah is the same way. Visiting is just so different, because you just get a little taste of what it’s like – you don’t really get all the details and stresses. Hawaii is this way. You come to visit and it’s absolute paradise. You come to live, and it’s lost a little bit of it’s magic. Especially when school is involved.

Since I have been on a hiatus, as usual, I suppose I will fill you in.

Having a car rocks, but if I had known what I know now, I wouldn’t have spent so much money on it. The parking situation here is out of control; too many cars, not enough people willing to let others park on their property. There are 3 of us in the house that have vehicles, and there are barely 2 parking spots at the house. We used to park down the street, but the owners of one of the houses decided to be so sweet and block it off. That was a real treat. So, now it’s each man for himself when it comes to parking. It’s become interesting.

Next, my landlord. OH MY LANDLORD. She has just been a real peach to deal with. Again, had I known what I know now, I wouldn’t have moved into this house. We have gone through so much junk that it’s now comical. From things breaking with no solution, to unanswered texts, to almost being charged for a leak that we had nothing to deal with. It’s been a roller coaster with many stops at the housing office in between. Our house also had the opportunity to be infested with bed bugs. That was a disaster in itself.

Classes are good. My hardest is accounting, but if I concentrate, I can make it through. I’m taking Hawaiian Studies, Local Communities, Biology, Religion, and of course Accounting. It’s not too hard – but it’s college, which means I want to procrastinate everything that I do. Somehow I’ve managed to gain weight during this semester, but hopefully it will all shed off in the next 3 weeks so I am not dubbed “Sweet Spirit” when I get off the plane in Phoenix.

IF any of you are wondering, NO i am not dating anyone, and NO I have not gone on any dates. There’s that.

My friends here are great. I spend most of my time with the people that live in my house. There are 19 of us in here. Brennen, Bailey, Emily, Katie, Kate, Taylor, Alyssa, Emily, and Kelsie are who I spend the majority of my time with. I’m so thankful that we all get along, because it would be a completely different experience if we didn’t. We have so much fun together – I’m going to miss them!

That leads me to my next and probably final topic. I came out here with the intent to stay 2 semesters. Hence the car, and living off campus. But, about a month ago, I started having a crisis. I wasn’t really wanting to be out here anymore, and I had no direction or knowledge as to where I was going. I felt obligated to stay, but I had no desire. I prayed and fasted, but I wasn’t really getting an answer, or so I thought. I asked Brennen, a boy who lives downstairs, if he could give me a priesthood blessing. It was UNREAL. I have such a strong testimony of blessings. They have never let me down! (more about that here) During this blessing, I felt that I needed to go back to Provo. I don’t know why. Maybe to be near my family, maybe my future man is down there (wishful thinking). But that’s the feeling I got. I felt as if I needed to apply to BYU Provo, because that’s where I needed to be. So, I did. I applied, and long story short, I was not accepted for the winter semester. I am not sad about not getting accepted; I have never EVER wanted to attend BYU Provo in all my years. But, I was upset because I thought that’s what heavenly father wanted me to do. I was SO sure that that’s where I needed to be, but maybe now is not the time for me to be there. So, for now, I am going home for good at the end of this semester. I’ll live at home and attend UVU, and apply for BYU for either the summer or the next fall. I’m not sure what will happen, but I know Heavenly Father is looking out for me no matter what. He will make the way known.

Hawaii has been good to me, and I love it. I will miss it SO much, but I am excited to go home. Life is crazy.

A radical rainbow over turtle bay - North Shore

A radical rainbow over turtle bay – North Shore

Hawaiian sunsets never disappoint

Hawaiian sunsets never disappoint

Easily the best bakery I've been to out here - Liliha Bakery on Nimitz Highway

Easily the best bakery I’ve been to out here – Liliha Bakery on Nimitz Highway

Sharks Cove, North Shore

Sharks Cove, North Shore

Angels Ice Cream, peanut butter cup of course!

Angels Ice Cream, peanut butter cup of course!

Bailey, Brennen, Me

Bailey, Brennen, Me

LaniKai beach and some serious cuties

LaniKai beach and some serious cuties

Bailey and I at Hard Rock Cafe in Honolulu. Those drink are non alcoholic, I swear

Bailey and I at Hard Rock Cafe in Honolulu. Those drink are non alcoholic, I swear

My good cousin Mary came out to visit - and we were just blossoming

My good cousin Mary came out to visit – and we were just blossoming

Dole-ing it with Mary

Dole-ing it with Mary

Pearl Harbor, always a tear jerker

Pearl Harbor, always a tear jerker

Waikiki Beach

Waikiki Beach

IMG_3212 IMG_3220

On the drive back from Kailua, incredible.

On the drive back from Kailua, incredible.

North Shore beaches are the bomb

North Shore beaches are the bomb

Kate and I at JImmy Buffets. We were dying to eat. LOL

Kate and I at JImmy Buffets. We were dying to eat. LOL

Zombies on Halloween, Honlulu

Zombies on Halloween, Honlulu

Sunset beach, North shore

Sunset beach, North shore

Could it be, another sunset?

Could it be, another sunset?

Another sunset, SURPRISE

Another sunset, SURPRISE

Sunsets man

Sunsets man

Cool tide watch for all the waves I don't know how to surf, and an even cooler sea glass ring from Haleiwa.

Cool tide watch for all the waves I don’t know how to surf, and an even cooler sea glass ring from Haleiwa.

The Kahuku High School semi-finals football game. We lost 13-10, but it was the funnest and most high energy game I've ever attended

The Kahuku High School semi-finals football game. We lost 13-10, but it was the funnest and most high energy game I’ve ever attended

Bailey, Katie, Brennen, Me. I apparently was the only one who got the extra cute face memo

Bailey, Katie, Brennen, Me. I apparently was the only one who got the extra cute face memo

Pure happiness - so many good memories associated with this

Pure happiness – so many good memories associated with this

Leave a Reply

