home for le holidays

Well, ya filthy animals, I made it home. 2 weeks ago. I’m a little behind on the times here in the blogging world.

I am so incredibly happy to be home. I haven’t been up in Utah since JULY. The last time I attended my ward here was for my best friends mission farewell. That blows my MIND. I wish that I could tell you that my whole life has changed and that I was on the brink of some incredible discovery. I am not. I’m still 19 and I still have no idea what I’m doing with my life. I’m going to UVU this January and majoring in legal studies. I sure hope this works in my favor, because if it doesn’t, I really will have no idea what I’m doing with my life. I’m really excited to start studying, as crazy as that sounds. Legal stuff interests me. We’ll see how I feel at the end of the semester.

I wish that I could tell you that my room is spotless and my car is clean and I’m completely unpacked and that I have 0 blemishes and that my hair is perfectly blonde all the time. None of this is real life. My room is a mess, my car is filthy, my suitcases are laying open in the middle of my floor (see what I mean about mess?), my face is having a panic attack because of the dry air, AND I look like I just stepped out of a trailer park somewhere in the depths of trash-ville. I wish that I was sitting in my cute bed with my perfect room sipping on some delightful hot chocolate, BUT I am not. Life isn’t perfect. Whatever.

Christmas is my favorite time of the year, and we got to spend it with my cousins and aunt and uncle. It was of course, the best Christmas. I don’t really understand, however, how the great and joyous occasion of our Savior’s birth was turned into a season of selfishness and pointless gift giving. Don’t get me wrong; I LOVE PRESENTS. Who doesn’t? But I feel that as I get older, the focus is less and less on what our loving Savior did for us, and more on what we get under the tree and how fast we can instagram it. We can’t lose sight of the reason for the season. My dad and I were reading some passages from the Christmas story, and my dad stated that his favorite scripture was John 3:16. Please read it and contemplate how beautiful it is. Christmas is more than unwrapping that new technological device that’s under the tree.

I love being home, and I cannot wait to see what this next school year brings! Next Christmas, all of my friends will be home from their missions. CANNOT CONTAIN MYSELF!!

Over and out,

Queen Anne

Leave a Reply

