A Girl and Her Car

For those of you who know me, or follow me on ANY social media platform, you may be thinking that I am in love with my car. This is partially right. I am actually OBSESSED WITH IT. It’s a healthy obsession, but it is also an expensive one. (For all of those blind or anti-media people, I currently drive a 2013 Mk 6 VW GTI. It has been affectionately dubbed “The Egg”)

WELL, following typical Holdsworth fashion, I have grown tired of having the same car for almost 3 years – I purchased the Egg in the summer of 2012, right after graduation. It was a grand ol’ time and haven’t even crashed it once. I haven’t even gotten a speeding ticket in the thing, can you believe it?!

I digress. I have grown tired of the Egg, but not entirely. It’s like eating your favorite food everyday for year; it’s awesome for a while, but soon you just crave something different. I have never eaten my favorite food (avocado toast) for a year straight, but I imagine that’s what it’s like.

The GTI is one of the best cars that has ever been made; ask any “car guy”. It’s punchy, zippy, great, adaptive, fast, turbo charged, and just great. It’s a great value and you get one of the funnest cars to ever be driven. Car and Driver named it the car of the year for 2014 – don’t try to tell me that it doesn’t rock your world. I recommend it for everyone.

For the last several weeks, I have been on the hunt for the next addition to my hobby. I’ve played back and forth with modifying and tuning my current car – lowering it, getting a larger turbo, changing the exhaust – and just throwing down on a new one. I would tune it, BUT what I want to change most is the body style. It’s just become a little dated to me; feel free to disagree, but this is my blog and I do what I WANT. (But thank you for reading; I love you, you’re great.) I’m against body kits and would never do one, so that’s out. The hunt for the new car was on.

I had several that I was very interested in – The Subaru BRZ, the new Ford Mustang, the Mk 7 GTI. I took my little self down to the dealerships and now I’m gonna tell you all about it.

BRZ – Drastically underpowered, which was disappointing. It’s SUCH a great looking car, but it just doesn’t have the internals to keep up with it. Give me an STI version, and I may consider it. It’s powered by a Boxer engine, which would leave the impression that it would knock your socks off. My socks stayed securely on my little feet. The interior was alright, nothing that made me cry for it’s beauty.  6/10

Ford Mustang – Impressed, but not built for small people. Visibility was hard for me, but it would have been livable. Very powerful – over 400 horsepower, double what the GTI has. Manual transmission was great, and the interior was very cool. It reminded me a lot of the Ford GT – I have the impression that was their intent. It’s got an independent rear suspension, which limits slip when flying around corners. The exhaust is snorty and the mirrors rumble right along with it. It’s a lot to handle – If you didn’t know what you were doing, it would be very easy to be an idiot behind the wheel of this car. 8/10.

AND NOW – A great dealership experience for all of you sweeties still reading. I show up at the local Ford dealer, ready for a test drive. Now, most salesman won’t take me seriously due to the fact that, 1. I am young. 2. I am a female. These are both irrelevant – money is money. I probably know more about the cars than the actual salesmen do, if we’re being completely honest. ANYWAY, I show up, and the receptionist directs me to an older man, we’ll call him Bud. At first, he seems friendly and ready to help – I want to test drive a manual transmission 5.0 mustang GT. We get in the car to take it out, and all hell breaks loose. He didn’t say a word to me about the car. Nothing about the horsepower, the transmission, the interior – NOTHING. He turns to me and says, “This is supposed to be my day off. But since it’s the end of the month, I had to come in. If I seem unfriendly or rude, that’s why.” Uh, okay? Weird act number 1. I take the car around with this guy, who is clearly an idiot, and just lost the sale of a car. We get on the freeway for, I kid you not, 1 exit, and turn around and come back. That is not NEARLY enough time to test a car like that. We get back to the dealer, and that’s when I smell it. THIS GUY IS DRUNK. AT WORK. I could smell it everywhere around him – his desk, his clothes – everything. He then proceeds to try to sell me on an automatic, which is something I distinctly said I DIDN’T want. We take an automatic out, still nothing about the internals or ANYTHING related to the car. We get back, and I seriously could not wait to get out of his presence. Needless to say, if I was to buy a mustang, it would not be from this guy. I could write a whole post about the way that I get treated at car dealerships. Maybe I will.

GTI – I took this car out about a month ago. It’s just like my car, only zippier. It’s got a little more horsepower and torque than the Egg does, and the exterior and interior have been redone. It’s refreshing and modern; the interior is like a spaceship, and even the steering wheel has been modified. My one gripe is that the plaid cloth seats are only available on the basic version. Anything else, you get leather. First world problems, I know, but I DETEST leather seats. They burn your legs in the summer and freeze your buns in the winter. My current egg has plaid cloth seats, the sunroof, and the improved stereo. The basic version of the Mark 7 has the seats, but no upgrades. Come on, VW, stop messing around! Overall, a great car. 9.9/10 (just because of the dang seats)

So what’s next for good ol’ Annie? A Mark 7 GTI. Don’t fix it if it’s not broken, am I right? I’m hoping to get one in the next couple months, BUT I’m not sure. I’m sure I’ll keep you all updated, whether you like it or not. I’m keeping my eye out for a two door, white, manual transmission – Egg 2.0

D7K_1790

D7K_1784 D7K_1761 D7K_1751 2 cool 3

Leave a Reply

